Piney Point Lighthouse, Museum and Historic Park
The Piney Point Lighthouse, Museum and Park rests on the shore of the Potomac River and is home to the oldest lighthouse on the Potomac built in 1836.
The south campus of the site is the historic area where the lighthouse and keeper's quarters are located flanked by a wooden boardwalk and pier. Visitors can view both any day from sunrise to sunset.
The north campus offers the museum building with visitor services, exhibits, and the Lighthouse Lens Museum Store. Exhibits focus on the history of the lighthouse, the Piney Point area, and the U-1105 Black Panther, a German submarine scuttled offshore. The submarine was a warprize of World War II and studied and tested by the U.S. Navy due its stealthy rubberized coating. It now serves as Maryland's first underwater shipwreck dive preserve.
The Potomac River Maritime Exhibit houses authentic wooden vessels that worked the waters of the Potomac and Chesapeake Bay and exhibits tell the story of the hardy men and women who eeked out a life for their families by fishing, crabbing and oystering.
Visitors can enjoy the picnic and pier faciliies year round and boaters are welcome. A new kayak launch is under construction and will be available to the public in 2010.
Tours of the site and a climb to the top of the lighthouse are included in your visit during staffed hours of operation. The Piney Point Lighthouse, Museum and Historic Park is managed by the Museum Division of the St. Mary's County Department of Recreation and Parks and the Board of County Commissioners. The site and grounds are handicap accessible. The lighthouse tower is not handicap accessible.
For information about adult group or student tours, volunteer opportunities, hours of operation and special events, please log on to the website or call the museum at 301-994-1471.